Direct Announcements: Russia Occupies Ukraine

Seven Exit corridors Ukraine’s Deputy Prime Minister Irina Vareshchuk has announced that key routes in Ukraine will be opened on Saturday.

Announcing the corridors in a Facebook post on Saturday, Vereshchuk said the list would also include the route from the besieged southern city. Like Mariupol To a government-controlled city Zaporizhia In southeastern Ukraine.

Before reaching the final destination of Zaporizhia, private transport will travel along the exit route, stopping at Mangush, Berdyansk, Tokmak, Vasilyevka and Kamyanske.

On April 1, 42 buses from Bertiansk and 5 buses from Melidopol arrived in Saporizia, Ukraine, in an evacuation operation organized by the International Committee of the Red Cross in collaboration with the Ukrainian Red Cross. (Andre Louise Alves / Anatolian Agency / Getty Images)

Vareshchuk announced in a video message Friday evening that a convoy of 42 buses carrying residents from the besieged city of Mariupol to the southern city of Berdyans had passed a major Russian checkpoint and headed for Saporizia. The convoy arrived in Saporigia that night.

After the Ukrainian government’s efforts to “open the corridors from Mariupol to Saporizia” from March 5, Vareshuk hailed the visit as a success.

A total of 6,266 people were evacuated from Ukrainian cities on Friday, of which 1,431 passed through the evacuation corridors from the southern cities of Berdyansk and Melidopol to Zaporizhia in their own vehicles, Vareshku said. Of that number, he said, 771 came first as Mariupol.

Residents evacuated from Bertishank and Melidopol arrive in Ukraine's Saporizia on April 1.
Residents evacuated from Bertishank and Melidopol arrive in Ukraine’s Saporizia on April 1. (Andre Louise Alves / Anatolian Agency / Getty Images)

Routes for buses and private vehicles are also expected to operate on Saturday in Tokmak, Vasilyvka and Kamyanske.

Exit routes will also be opened from the Russian-backed separatist-controlled town of Luhansk to the town of Rubisne in eastern Donetsk.

The rest of the routes will run from Nizhny Novgorod to Baghmud, Severodonetsk to Baghmud, Bopasna to Baghmud and Lisyansk to Pakhmut.

CNN’s Nathan Hodge and Julia Brezniakova reported on this post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.