Paul Goldschmidt of the Cardinals named 2022 National League MVP

St. Louis Cardinals First baseman Paul Goldschmidt has won the National League Most Valuable Player Award for 2022, Major League Baseball and the BBWAA, the voting body for the award, announced Thursday evening. Goldschmidt was bested by third baseman and teammate Nolan Arenado and third baseman Manny Machado. San Diego Padres.

For the NL Central-champion Cardinals this season, Goldschmidt hit .317/.404/.578 (180 OPS+) with 35 home runs, 41 doubles, 115 RBI and 106 runs scored. He led the NL in slugging percentage, OPS and OPS+ and was poised to make a run at the Triple Crown late in the season. Goldschmidt also won the Hank Aaron Award in the NL and was a finalist for the Gold Glove Award at first base.

This is the first time Goldschmidt has won the award in his 12-year MLB career. He previously finished in the top five in the polls as a member Arizona Diamondbacks In 2013, 2015 and 2017. Winning the latter award would boost Goldschmidt’s eventual Hall of Fame case.

Goldschmidt is the 21st MVP in Cardinals franchise history and the first since Albert Pujols picked up the hardware in 2009.

He received 22 first-place votes, while Machado scored seven and Arenado received one. Here is the total:

1. Paul Goldschmidt, Cardinals: 380

2. Manny Machado, parent: 291

3. Nolan Arenado, Cardinals: 232

4. Freddie Freeman, Cheaters: 220

5. Mookie Betts, Dodgers: 154

6. Austin Riley, The brave ones: 116

7. JT Realmuto, Phillies: 98

8. Pete Alonso, met: 81

9. Francisco Lindor, Mets: 77

10. Sandy Alcantara, Marlins: 39

11. Trey Turner, Dodgers: 29

12. Dansby Swanson, Braves: 23

13. Michael Harris, Braves: 9

14. Julio Urias, Dodgers: 8

15. Jeff McNeil, Mets: 6

16. Daniel Bart, The Rockies: 2

17. Kyle Schwarber, Phillies: 2

18. Edwin Diaz, Mets: 2

19. Starling Marte, Mets: 1

Arenado, Goldschmidt’s fellow corner infielder in St. Louis, made his case with a .293/.358/.533 (154 OPS+) slash line, 30 home runs and 42 doubles in 148 games. At the hot corner, Arenado displayed his usual stellar defense, and he recently joined Ichiro Suzuki as the only players to win 10 straight Gold Gloves in their first 10 seasons. Because of that all-around excellence, Arenado paced the NL with a WAR of 7.9. This is the fourth time Arenado has finished in the top five of the NL MVP voting.

Machado, the remaining finalist, enjoyed one of the best seasons of his career in 2022. In helping the Padres reach the postseason, he hit .298/.366/.531 (159 OPS+) in 150 games with 32 home runs, 37 doubles, and nine stolen bases in 10 attempts. Machado’s big numbers and consistency in the field were crucial for a San Diego team that was without star shortstop Fernando Tadis Jr. Had Machado won the voting, he would have been the second MVP in Padres history, joining Ken Caminetti in 1996. Machado previously finished in the top five in the polls in 2015, 2016 and 2020.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.